Meier Wins Legislative Race; Emge Get Nod For Judge; Sales Tax Defeated

Posted March 21, 2012 at 8:59 pm

The one percent sales tax proposition suffered a resounding defeat at the hands of Washington County voters who also nominated a Republican candidate for county resident judge and saw a county resident win the GOP nomination for state representative.

Charlie Meier of Okawville won the GOP nomination for state representative over two challengers.,

Meier received 4,390 votes to win the 108th House District nomination. He topped incumbent Paul Evans, 3,733 votes, and Don Weber, 3,330.

Meier received 1,796 ballots in his home county, outdistancing Evans, who polled 381 local votes, and Don Weber, who got 291.

The 108th District includes all or parts of Washington, Clinton, Madison and St. Clair counties.

No Democrat ran in the primary for that office.

Voters turned down the school sales tax referendum by a vote of 3,002 no and 850 yes. That margin was far wider than in 2009 when a similar proposition was defeated with 1,957-1,329.

In the GOP race for Washington County resident judge, Daniel Emge won the nomination with 1,879 votes to State Attorney Julie Kozuszek’s 1,216. Kozuszek could not run for another term in the prosecutor’s office after announcing her candidacy for the judge’s position, which opened following the resignation of Dennis Hatch.

Emge will face Brian Trentman in the November election. Trentman ran unopposed for the Democratic nomination and received 541 votes.

In the Republican presidential race, Mitt Romney was the winner statewide by a strong margin. Locally, however, Rick Santorum was favored, receiving 1,312 votes, followed by Mitt Romney with 1,179, Ron Paul with 240 and Newt Gingrich 204.

In other county results:

Republican Nominations

John Shimkus received 2,707 ballots for 15th District U.S. Representative.

Kyle McCarter, 1,798 for 54th District State Senator.

David Luechtefled, 553 for 58th District State Senator.

Mike Bost, 530 for 115th District State Representative.

Cindy Barczewski, 2,691 for circuit clerk.

Mark Styninger, 2,401 for coroner.

County Board

No Contested Races

District 1: Jeffrey Evans, 459; Angela Lisk, 408; Gary Suedmeyer, 511.

District 2: Alan Hohlt, 788; Leo Barczewski, 775 ; Dave Ibendahl, 802.

District 3: Paul Todd, 783; David Meyer, 769; Eric Brammeier, 801; Victor Shubert, 572; Charles Meier, 889.

Democrat Nominations

Danny Stover, 304 votes for 54th District State Senator.

Tom Speedie, 502 for state’s attorney.

County Board

No Contested Races

District 1: Brent Schorfheide, 181; Robert Gill, 217; Keith Droege, 151.

District 2: Terrie Kurwicki, 168; WillySpenner, 156.

District 3: Timothy Dunnigan, 103.

County board candidates from both parties will square off in the November general election with 15 to be elected.

Comments are closed.